6 lesser known facts about Lord Shiva!


lesser known facts about Lord Shiva

6 lesser known facts about Lord Shiva!

He is one of the popular and principal deites of Hinduism. He has millions of followers in India and

the rest of the world. 

He is known as Bholenath or the innocent one. While sometimes he is known as Mahakal or the

fierce one. 

With being popular, he is also one of the mysterious Gods in Hinduism. There are a number of

shocking facts about him, which many people don’t know!

Today I’m going to tell you 6 shocking facts about Lord Shiva which many people don’t know

about him!



As we all know, Lord Shiva is known as Bholenath or the most innocent one. He is generally

represented as a calm and cool-minded God in pictures and photos. 

In most of the Puranas, Lord Shiva is usually known for his innocent nature. But in Vedas, he is

described with a slight difference. 

In Vedas, Shiva is called by the name of Rudra. Rudra means Fierce or anger in Sanskrit. Amazingly,

in Vedas, nowhere Shiva finds mention as a calm and cool God. 

In Vedas, Shiva is mainly described as a God of calamities and cruelties. Contrary to the usual

nature of Shiva which we see today, he is described as a cruel and angry God in Vedas and hence

he gets his name as Rudra.


Lord Shiva is the source of both good and evil. He is a destroyer and he destroys everything. But

his every destruction brings a new hope of goodness and has a purpose of doing something

much better. 

Because of this, he is seen as a source of both Good and Evil. Lord Shiva has all three, Sattvik,

Rajasic and Tamasik forms. 

Sattvik forms like Bholenath, Shankar, Mahesh are there. Rajasic forms like Grihapati, Umapati,

Vishdhar are also there. And Tamasik forms like Aghori, Veerbhadra, Bhairava are also there. 

Sometimes Lord Shiva also demonstrates some forms which seem to be evil and bad, but actually

are Good and pure from inside. The most best example of this Mahakaleshwara. 

While sometimes, he represents some forms which are beyond any Guna, any Good and Evil. Like

Sadashiva and Adiyogi and his Parabrahman Shivlinga form. 


Who doesn’t know that Shiva can’t live without Shakti? Everybody knows that Lord Shiva cannot

be separated from Mother Parvati. Actually he is incomplete without Parvati. 

The most suitable example of this is the Ardhanarishwara form of Lord Shiva. According to

mythology, Shiva gave his half-body to Parvati.

Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati together are called as Jagadpita and Jagadmata or the Father

and Mother of the universe.


Unlike other Gods, Lord Shiva is shown in a very unusual way. In other words, he is shown very

different from other Gods of hinduism. 

Lord Shiva is generally shown as an ascetic with a simple and quite weird dress. He has black

matted hair with long and snake-like locks which are known as “Jata”. 

Like Vishnu, Kali, Ram, Krishna; Shiva is also shown with a blue complexion. The most extraordinary

thing is the third eye of him, which when opened, destroys everything. 

Lord Shiva is shown with Goddess Ganga on his head, three horizontal lines on his forehead, two

scorpions named Alakshya and Niranjan hang on his ears like an earring. Lord Shiva wears a snake

named Vasuki around his neck.

He holds a trident named Trishul which he uses as his weapon. He wears a tigerskin around his

thighs and legs. 

Shiva is also depicted as wearing large and huge Rudraksh Mala’s in his neck. 


There is a mystical sect of followers of Shiva who are known as Aghoris. These people are the

most interesting and mysterious sect of ascetics in Hinduism. 

Aghoris or Avadhoots are a sect of followers who believe Shiva to be their Aradhya Dev or

Isht Dev. They worship Shiva in the form of Mahakal, the most fierce form of him. 

Along with Mahakal, they worship Parvati in the form of Mahakali. 

Aghoris are a type of Tantriks. They live in Cremation Grounds, smear the ash of human bodies

over their body. They live very secretly and rarely are seen anywhere. 

They usually keep themselves away from the normal people and live in isolated places. Aghoris

do not like to touch, talk, or come near anybody.  

It is said that these people can see everything, whether visible or invisible. They can see Ghosts,

spirits, Fairies, Gods, Angels etc. 


This is the most popular thing about Lord Shiva. Everybody knows that Shiva has a third eye. But

many people ask what this third eye symbolizes?

The third eye is the eye used for second-level thinking and seeing all things whether visible or


Now what is Second-level thinking? It is one aspect of the yogic sciences. The third eye symbolizes

the spiritual aspect of seeing and observing, which is beyond physical and mental aspects.

This eye is related to wisdom and vision. It is the divine eye of spirituality. When a person performs

Meditation, Yoga and Dhyana continuously for many years, he develops this third eye. 

The third eye symbolizes the majesty and authority of Lord Shiva. 

Leave a Comment